14 Impressive Historical Places To Visit in Turkey

Ancient Sites and Historical Places to Visit in Turkey

Since I started this blog, it has become evident to others and myself that history has become my main passion while exploring Turkey. Ask me to choose between visiting a nightclub or historical site and I will always choose the latter. Ask me to write a recipe for a Turkish food dish or pen an article about some ancient ruins and the ruins will always win.

Perhaps my fevered enthusiasm is because the number of historic places in Turkey runs into thousands, scattered from the east to the west, and that is only the ones that the archeologists, excavators, and university professors know about. Every year, press releases about a new discovery or a planned excavation dig gains immense attention across the Internet.

The huge amount of historic places can be credited to the fact that Turkey sits on the edge of ancient Mesopotamia, that is often referred to as the birthplace of civilization, so it is not a surprise that many empires have conquered, ruled, and lost their reign of the region.

Anyone who wanted to be notorious and control the pathway connecting the world would set their sights on conquering the land, and naturally, they left behind traces of their existence. The extensive list of rulers includes the Ottomans, Byzantine, and Hittites, Lycians, Alexander the Great and the Persians to name but a few.

Ancient Sites and Historical Places to Visit in Turkey

However, please do not think I am a number snob because more importantly, it is the extensive work that has gone into restoring much of them to their original appearance that should be admired. I haven’t visited many other countries but I’m willing to bet that Turkey has some of the best quality ancient sites of the modern world.

So this article is about my favourite historic places in Turkey but there is still so many that I am yet to visit so I have teamed up with my friend Yuksel Tasdemir, who lives in the neighbouring resort of Kusadasi. As a travel guide and Turkey tours agency owner, he has amassed a wealth of information regarding Turkish history and when he is not jetting off around the world, promoting the country in travel fairs, he is more than happy to indulge in my passion for this travel niche. So let’s get started.

Bygone Sites and Landmarks of Istanbul

Hagia-Sophia

Since I started this blog, it has become evident to others and myself that history has become my main passion while exploring Turkey. Ask me to choose between visiting a nightclub or historical site and I will always choose the latter. Ask me to write a recipe for a Turkish food dish or pen an article about some ancient ruins and the ruins will always win.

Perhaps my fevered enthusiasm is because the number of historic places in Turkey runs into thousands, scattered from the east to the west, and that is only the ones that the archeologists, excavators, and university professors know about. Every year, press releases about a new discovery or a planned excavation dig gains immense attention across the Internet.

The huge amount of historic places can be credited to the fact that Turkey sits on the edge of ancient Mesopotamia, that is often referred to as the birthplace of civilization, so it is not a surprise that many empires have conquered, ruled, and lost their reign of the region.

Anyone who wanted to be notorious and control the pathway connecting the world would set their sights on conquering the land, and naturally, they left behind traces of their existence. The extensive list of rulersincludes the Ottomans, Byzantine, and Hittites, Lycians, Alexander the Great and the Persians to name but a few.

Ancient-city-of-Ephesus

Ancient Sites and Historical Places to Visit in Turkey

However, please do not think I am a number snob because more importantly, it is the extensive work that has gone into restoring much of them to their original appearance that should be admired. I haven’t visited many other countries but I’m willing to bet that Turkey has some of the best quality ancient sites of the modern world.

So this article is about my favourite historic places in Turkey but there is still so many that I am yet to visit so I have teamed up with my friend Yuksel Tasdemir, who lives in the neighbouring resort of Kusadasi. As a travel guide and Turkey tours agency owner, he has amassed a wealth of information regarding Turkish history and when he is not jetting off around the world, promoting the country in travel fairs, he is more than happy to indulge in my passion for this travel niche. So let’s get started.

Bygone Sites and Landmarks of Istanbul

As one of Turkey’s most visited attractions receiving millions of visitors every year, Ephesus should be on everyone’s bucket list when they come to the country. I have been three times and will go back again and again because new excavations or restoration work is constantly taking place.

Most restored landmarks date from when Romans ruled the city and earlier Christianity was spreading through the region. I thoroughly enjoyed exploring the Roman terraced houses that belonged to wealthy citizens, the Celsus library that was the third largest in the ancient world, and the Grand Theatre where the rioters of Artemis ganged up on Saint Paul. Anyone interested in Christian religious travel, will greatly enjoy an Ephesus tour because it was one of the Seven Churches of Revelation as mentioned in the New Testament of the Bible.

Leave a Reply

